Home » Uncategorized » Experiments with Cake II

Experiments with Cake II

I have enrolled in the cake decorating course (beginners).  We had the first session last week, at which we made cupcakes, and watched the instructor make buttercream icing.  Tonight we’ll be making buttercream icing ourselves (eww) and using it to ice a cake.

To ice a cake, we must bake a cake in advance, preferably 20cm.

Therefore, I decided it was time to try out the second attempt of the White Chocolate, Almond and Orange cake described in my previous post.

While making the cake, I discovered I had made an error in the previous attempt, which would explain why it was so sweet.  For some reason, although I’d reduced the sugar by cup volume, I made an error in calculating the sugar by weight – I used 3/4 of the original recipe, rather than 3/4 of half the original recipe.  That will explain why it was so sweet.  So my “attempt 2” version in fact has the weight I should have used the first time.  We’ll see how that works out.

I won’t be tasting the cake proper until I cut it with my workmates tomorrow: I’ll let you know how it goes.

However, I did have some white chocolate left over, and some orange zest, so I decided to try making some mini cupcakes using the same recipe.  I will get to taste those today!

Later…

Now that the cakes are cooked, I can report that they are sunken in the middle.  BBC good food (http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/howto/guide/how-make-cake-top-10-problems-fixed) tells me that this is either because the oven door was opened too soon (nope), or the cake didn’t go in the oven as soon as it was ready (it did, though arguably there could be something in this) or there was too much rising agent (?!).  The last one is possible, since in adjusting the amounts of self-raising flour and almond meal, there would have been more rising agent than in the first attempt (which also sunk in the middle, though that could have been due to opening the door).

Icing them will still be OK, because you just cut off the bits that aren’t flat.

Leave a Reply

