Home » Renovation » An unexpected acquisition

An unexpected acquisition

We have bought another house.  This has been a surprise to everyone, including us.  My office mate said “I didn’t know you were looking”.  I said “nor did we!”.

A lesson indeed to all hardened real-estate voyeurs (what the agents call tyre-kickers…): be careful what you tender, you might win.

So, I have been telling people that we accidentally bought another house – as in, went to an Open Home for fun (hey, I said I was a voyeur), took a tender document out of curiousity, accidentally wrote a number on it, accidentally signed it, and accidentally dropped it in the tender box on the morning in question.

Of course, as with a number of other offers we’ve made, we thought the accidental number was ludicrously low – one of those offers where the agent would open the envelope, look at the price, laugh in derision and fling the papers over their shoulder in the direction of the rubbish bin.  Still, I do like to know one way or t’other, and the day after the tender when I hadn’t heard anything the night before, I phoned the agent.  No, she said, it was being sold by the Public Trust, and they’d be looking at the offers that afternoon.

Back in uncertainty mode, waiting for the phone to ring…

In the evening, still haven’t heard anything, phone the agent, say “can I assume from the fact we haven’t heard that we were out of luck?”  She said, “well, it’s not official, so I can’t say for certain, but you might be pleasantly surprised.” (Shocked giggle-faw from me.)..

So, various other to-ing and fro-ing, and by Friday, to our increasing trepidation, we find that it’s all but a done deal:  just needs to go to the legal department in Lower Hutt, because they NEVER sign ANY contract without the lawyers looking at it first, but basically 99% sold.  Yikes!

I was stressing seriously.  That’s a much larger morgage than I’m used to thinking about, what with owning two houses at once.  “What have we done?!” I asked.  But Husband was said “don’t worry – once The Youngest starts school, he said, we won’t have to pay the nanny, and that’ll cover the mortgage difference. ” and I was reassured.  Husband is good like that.

We went round to see the house again on Saturday – just from the outside, since we don’t officially own it, but it’s empty, so noone’s likely to mind.  Husband looked at me in terror and said “What have we done?!”  I said “don’t worry! We knew we were going to rebuild it from the front back anyway.”  I hope I reassured him as much as he’d reassured me.

In case you couldn’t tell from the previous paragraph, the place is a dive.  A deceseased estate, derelict, a former den of drug-addicts.

Such learning opportunities.  We said to The Oldest “Come see this, darling, and if you ever find one, it’s very dangerous, and don’t touch it, but come and get Mummy or Daddy at once.  It’s called a syringe.  Have you heard of drugs?  Like “heroin”, or “marijuana”? “No.” Well, they’re very bad for you, and if you see one of these with a needle on the end (no needle on this one, fortunately) and it pricks you it could have bad blood on it and make you very sick and die.”

“Oh, okay.  Can I climb this tree?”…

On Sunday, my Mum rang.  She said she’d walked past, and “it’s even more yummy than I remember it.”  Husband said “if your mother likes it, we know we’re in trouble.”

That’ll do for today.  Must get on with the previous project, which isn’t technically finished yet, and really should be before I embark on this one.

Met the nice Young Doctors next door, who were very happy it’d been bought by a family, not a developer.

 

Short update.

The council Archives office rang.  They can’t find the original plans, just the 1955 garage plan, and the 1963 repiling details.  I suggested if they couldn’t find ours, they try finding the plans for next door, since they were probably they same.  They’ll get back to me tomorrow.

 

Further updates…

So yup, Public Trust have signed off, so as of 21 January 2009 it’ll be ours.  I texted Husband to let him know.  His reply was “Aaaah!”  But it’s alright, really.  I think.  I have sent an email to an Academic Architect, to see if he’s interested.  I rang Building Consents at the council.  They didn’t know much about the over-the-back development, only that something new had been sent in in the last month.  They said building consents were taking about 20 working days, which is not so bad, but that it was best to get resource consent first – you can apply for both at the same time, but if you do, and you don’t get the resource consent, the building consent’s no use anyway.

Didn’t get to talk to the Consents person.  She was a Senior Planning Manager, so likely to be Busy.

Also wrote to the chair of “Friends of Wright St” to ask to be put on the list for meetings.  And left a message with a heritage person asking for any general brochures etc.  I noticed that if you have to apply for resource consent because of heritage rules, you can apply to have the fee waived.  So that’ll be worth a crack.

Now, back to the thesis.  Really.

Leave a Reply

